2020 AFAANZ Conference – celebrating 60 years

5-7 July Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Call for Papers

The 2020 AFAANZ Conference organised by the Accounting & Finance Association of Australia and New Zealand (AFAANZ) will be held in Melbourne, Australia on 5-7 July 2020 and celebrates 60 years of AFAANZ.

AFAANZ is devoted to a very broad spectrum of accounting and finance research and we welcome innovative research approaches as well as those that are well established. Papers are invited in the broad areas of accounting, finance, auditing, corporate governance, accounting information systems, accounting education, ethics, corporate social responsibility, tax and related fields. All papers will be subject to blind peer review. AFAANZ encourages new and developing researchers to attend the conference. This year we will again extend a discount to first time AFAANZ conference attendees and full time higher degree research students.

The three plenary speakers at the conference will be:

- Christine Brown, Professor of Finance, Monash University

- Christopher Napier, Professor of Accounting, Royal Holloway University of London

- Ann Tarca, Professor of Accounting, Board member of International Accounting Standards Board


Guidelines for Submission

Further details regarding the submission of papers will be made available on the AFAANZ conference website. Papers can be submitted at https://www.openconf.org/afaanz2020/openconf.php  from the start of December 2019.

Papers will only be considered if at least one author is an individual member of AFAANZ. AFAANZ members also enjoy a reduced registration fee for the conference. Alternatively, an AUD$50 submission fee can be paid HERE (please email info@afaanz.org for details).

Submission Date

Papers must be submitted by Monday, 10 February 2020, 5pm Australian Eastern Daylight Standard Time. Late submissions will NOT be accepted.


Email notification of the outcome of submissions is expected to be sent to the submitting author by early April 2020.


Any enquiries regarding the submission process for papers may be directed to Tom Scott and Yaowen Shan at chair@afaanz.org