

AFAANZ - BEST PHD AWARD

The Accounting and Finance Association of Australia and New Zealand (AFAANZ) seeks to advance accounting and finance research by recognising and rewarding outstanding work of early career researchers. AFAANZ currently supports accounting and finance PhD students through the AFAANZ Doctoral Symposium and the AFAANZ Doctoral Education Network. The Best PhD Award, awarded annually, recognises an outstanding accounting and/or finance PhD, and to acknowledge the important role that supervisors play in research training.

SELECTION CRITERIA

In selecting the award recipient, the Awards Committee will consider the following criteria:

- The importance of the accounting/finance issue, especially in the Australian/New Zealand setting. The use of data from outside of Australasia will not automatically exclude a thesis from being eligible;
- The quality of execution of the study;
- The contribution of the research; and
- The potential for the conclusions to have practical implications for accounting/finance practitioners, organisations and regulators.
- Papers published from the thesis will be external evidence of the quality of the dissertation.

In addition to the above selection criteria the Awards Committee will assess the quality of writing in both the thesis and the Dissertation Summary Statement (see Submission Procedures).

The **Best PhD Award** will carry with it a certificate for the winner and certificates for the PhD supervisors (up to two). The PhD graduate will also receive an individual AFAANZ membership for one year (the full year following the year the award is given). The winner is to be announced and recognised at the AFAANZ Annual Conference in the year the award is given. The Awards Committee will not be obliged to award a prize if the determination is made that no submissions of suitable quality are received.

RULES GOVERNING ELIGIBLE SUBMISSIONS

Nominees must have been **awarded** their PhD during the calendar year prior to the year in which their submission is considered for the Best PhD Award.

The award is open to students who either:

- (i) completed their PhD at an AFAANZ institutional member university;
- (ii) are currently employed at an AFAANZ institutional member university; or
- (iii) are a paid-up individual member of AFAANZ.

One award is proposed annually across accounting and finance, not awards for each stream of research.

SUBMISSION PROCEDURES

PhD graduates seeking to be considered for the award should submit the following materials to the Chair of the Best PhD Award Committee at info@afaanz.org by **31 March** of the year in which they are nominating for the Award:

1. A **Dissertation Summary Statement** that also addresses the **Selection Criteria**, not exceeding eight (8) pages. The statement should explain the research question/s addressed in the dissertation, the importance of the research (in particular to the Australia/New Zealand setting), how the dissertation builds on prior work, samples, hypotheses, methodologies, research results, and the potential for the

conclusions to have practical implications. Discuss the working and/or published papers produced from the thesis.

- 2. A **Nomination Letter** (from the supervisors or Head of Department), not to exceed two (2) pages, attesting that the completed dissertation was examined, and passed, during the prior calendar year. This letter may include an assessment of the importance and quality of the work. The letter should also explain the relative contributions by the student and the supervisor in the dissertation and dissertation summary. Any other awards associated with the dissertation (e.g., Chancellor's medal, students with an ARC grant) should be noted in the nomination.
- 3. A copy of the **complete thesis**.

All documents should be submitted in PDF format.

COMPOSITION OF THE AWARDS COMMITTEE

Submitted dissertations will be judged by an Awards Committee appointed by the AFAANZ Board. Chaired by a Member of the AFAANZ Board, membership of the Awards Committee will change annually, and will comprise senior academics with expertise in the range of research interests, methods, and subject matter, as appropriate to the submitted nominations in any given year.