AFAANZ Board 2020-2021


Jac Birt
President (Australia) 


Professor Jacqueline Birt is a Professor of Accounting and Head of Department - Accounting and Finance at the University of Western Australia. Jacqueline's research is predominantly in international accounting and accounting education. In international accounting she has published in areas such as segment reporting, voluntary disclosures and value relevance. In accounting education she has published in areas such as XBRL, ICT skills, international student learning and blended learning.

Jacqueline has been an AFAANZ Board Director since 2011.  She is the AFAANZ representative on the International Accounting Education Standards Board (IAESB).


Image result for tom scott aut

Tom Scott
President (New Zealand) 


Associate Professor Tom Scott teaches courses focused on financial accounting standards at the Auckland University of Technology.  His research focuses on examining the intended and unintended consequences of changes in accounting and auditing rules and the usefulness of accounting information.  Tom's research has received best paper awards and local media attention.  He currently serves on the editorial board of the International Journal of Auditing and Pacific Accounting Review, and on the organizing committee of QARNs.  Tom also serves on the Australian Accounting Standards Board Disclosure Initiative Project Advisory Panel.

Tom was elected to the AFAANZ Board in 2018.



Andrew Jackson

Dr Andrew Jackson joined the University of New South Wales Business school in July 2005 and was appointed Senior Lecturer in July 2011. Andrew teaches postgraduate financial accounting. Prior to his appointment at UNSW, Andrew taught at Victoria University of Wellington in New Zealand. His research interest examines how accounting information is used by capital market participants, including issues on earnings co-movements, corporate disclosure, stock return volatility, the timeliness of earnings and asset pricing models. His paper, 'Pierpont and the Capital Market' was awarded a joint share of the Abacus 2009 Manuscript Award. Andrew is the Undergraduate Honours coordinator in the School of Accounting.​

Andrew has been an AFAANZ Board Director since 2014, appointed Treasurer in 2017 and is President Elect (Australia).


Maria Dyball
Director - Doctoral Symposium

Maria Dyball is an Associate Professor in Accounting at the University of Sydney Business School. Previously, she held academic positions at UNSW Sydney and Macquarie University, and, worked as an auditor and analyst. Dr. Dyball has a PhD and MCom (Honours) from the University of New South Wales (UNSW Sydney), and a BSc in Business Administration and Accountancy (Cum Laude) from the University of the Philippines.

Maria is Academic Director of the University of Sydney Accounting Foundation, and, Honours Coordinator for the Discipline of Accounting. Maria is an active supervisor of research students and has extensive experience in teaching research methodology, corporate governance and management accounting units, both at postgraduate and undergraduate programs.

Maria was elected to the AFAANZ Board in 2019.


David Bond
Director - Education/Social Media/IT 

Dr David Bond joined the Accounting Discipline Group at University of Technology Sydney in 2003. During his time at UTS David has been involved in teaching financial reporting and introductory accounting at both an undergraduate and postgraduate level. He is also currently a member of the Faculty Board in Business and the Faculty Board of Law and a committee member for the International Conference for e-Learning. From 2003 David was responsible for the operational aspects of the UTS Audit Markets Database. Since 2012 he has been a regular guest on 2SER. In 2013 he held the position of Academic Fellow at the International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation in London. He has also undertaken consulting work for a number of organizations.

David was elected to the AFAANZ Board in 2017.


Sumit Lodhia
Director - Special Interest Groups 

Professor Sumit Lodhia is a Director of the Centre for Sustainability Governance, University of South Australia, where he leads research focused on sustainability accounting, reporting, and governance.  Sumit was presented with the annual Australasian - Centre for Social and Environmental Accounting Hall of Fame Award for 2017.  The award is given to researchers who show leadership and a sustained contribution to research on sustainability accounting and reporting. 

Sumit was elected to the AFAANZ Board in 2018.


Nicola Beatson
Director - Technical Committee 

Dr Nicola Beatson is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Otago in the department of Accountancy and Finance and is a passionate teacher and researcher.  Since 2015, she has been on the organising committee for the AFAANZ Accounting Education SIG, and has huge amounts of energy and passion to dedicate to the AFAANZ board. For the last two years she has served on the technical committee (education streams) for the annual conference. She is an associate editor for Accounting Education and is on the editorial review board for Journal of Accounting Education.

Nicola was elected to the AFAANZ Board in 2020 and is President Elect (New Zealand).


Yaowen Shan
Director - Technical Committee

Yaowen Shan is a Professor in the Discipline of Accounting at the University of Technology, Sydney. His research focuses on the intersection of accounting and financial economics. In particularly, he examines the role of accounting and non-accounting information in capital markets and corporate governance, accounting choices and earnings manipulations, and executive compensations. His work has been accepted for publication at Review of Accounting Studies, Contemporary Accounting Research, Abacus, Accounting and Finance, Pacific-Basin Finance Journal, Australian Journal of Management, Journal of Contemporary Accounting and Economics, and Australian Accounting Review. Yaowen has won two Best Paper Awards at leading international accounting and finance conferences and several competitive research grants such as CIFR and AFAANZ research grants.

Yaowen was elected to the AFAANZ Board in 2019.


Marvin Wee
Director - Doctoral Symposium

Associate Professor Marvin Wee joined the Research School of Accounting in the ANU College of Business and Economics as an Associate Professor in June 2017. Prior to this, Marvin was at the University of Western Australia Business School. Marvin completed his PhD at the University of Western Australia in 2006 on the trading by retail traders and their impact on the Australian Stock Exchange. Between 2007 and 2009, Marvin worked at Bank of Scotland Treasury (Perth Branch) as an Interest Rate and Foreign Exchange Sales Dealer. Marvin returned to academia in 2009 to pursue his research interests. Marvin has taught courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels based upon his area of expertise. These courses are in the area of research methods in accounting and finance, corporate finance, investments and financial market microstructure.

Marvin was elected to the AFAANZ Board in 2017.

Gary Monroe
Editor-in-Chief, Accounting & Finance  

Professor Gary Monroe

Professor Gary Monroe is an internationally renowned researcher in auditing with an emphasis on audit judgment and the economics of auditing. His main research area of interest is auditing, but he also conducts research in banking and finance, financial accounting, business ethics and management accounting. With respect to research methods, Gary has published papers using archival, experimental, survey and qualitative research methods.

Gary is Editor-in-Chief of Accounting & Finance since 2021.